Hiking In The Simien Mountains: Summits, Baboons, and Smiles

Posted: June 9, 2013 in Ethiopia - the Secret of Africa

Simien Mountains National Park, Northern Ethiopa

Angkors Away

Opening my eyes, I was staring at the ceiling of our tent as I felt my hipbones crackling against the cold, hardened volcanic earth. The sides of the tent were pink like the tip of my nose, and I smiled. I knew I had plenty of crisp, breaking dawn to enjoy before we set out on the trail. When you’re trekking, your body synchronizes itself with the earth. You become drowsy with the setting of the sun, and you wake energized and excited, oblivious to your caffeine addiction which exists in the real world. There is no grumbling, no hitting of snooze buttons, no suit and tie. You have only your basic needs to fulfill; the rest is your private dance with nirvana.
???????????????????????????????

As I crawled out of the tent, I rolled up my sleeping bag and tied my scarf around my head. “Let’s go, Sean!” I whispered, and pulled him into the frigid…

View original post 746 more words

Leave a Reply

